A Random Thought, About the Blogger

A Rambling Thought | Book Twitter Is a Thing?

Book Twitter exists and is extremely intimidating to me. I legit don’t understand twitter in general, and book twitter is a whole new world that I am slowly trying to tiptoe into.

I created a book twitter profile today and am reading a lot of posts about it.

Look at that cute little nugget I am, trying to be hip and cool with book twitter.

I know absolutely nothing. I’ve had a personal twitter before but never really used it, and it seems like twitter is just full of lots of hate these days? Am I wrong about that?

But it also seems to be a great place to connect with other bookish people on a smaller, more digestible scale. Publishers, authors, book reviewers and fanatics… So many potential friends to chat about books with!

Still, it’s a bit intimidating to think about. Will I keep up with it? Who knows! Will I talk about books, or use it as a blog companion instead? Who knows!

I did, however, craft a list of possible uses for book twitter, because I like lists:

🐦 Blog companion: Using my twitter to expand my audience with the blog by reminding the world that I exist and oh look, here’s a new blog post! *chucks it at your face*
🐦 ‘Current-reads’ book discussions: Posting small blips of thoughts regarding books I’m currently reading.
🐦 A personal library of all my favorite quotes: Because I love quotes and I’m selfish. I could even make cute graphics for it… And next thing you know, I will be Queen of Book Pinterest and all will bow before me and my quote graphics.
🐦 Tiny book reviews/recaps: The whole idea of twitter is that you can’t write a lot in a single tweet, and I don’t understand multiple-tweet posts at all (how does this magic work??), but that means it’s the perfect platform for teeny tiny book reviews! I can especially see me using this for books I don’t want to write full reviews on.
🐦 Meeting new friends: I don’t know how to do this besides commenting on tweets and following other book bloggers who are on twitter, but the idea is there!

Love Me GIFs | Tenor

I can’t promise I’m going to keep up with my new twitter account. I hope I do! I hope it’s fun and engaging and that I learn how to use it properly… But I’m not going to force myself to do something that I don’t find joy in, especially since this is a hobby and not my job.

What are your thoughts? Do you like book twitter? Do you have any advice for me? And if you have a book twitter, please leave it below so I can follow you!

15 thoughts on “A Rambling Thought | Book Twitter Is a Thing?”

  1. Hope Twitter works out for you. I have one for my blog but only use it to announce what I post. I hardly interact there because I don’t like the platform since it gets so hostile… and book twitter (esp associated with booktube) gets a lot of drama. I guess it just depends on how a person uses it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. book twitter, like any part of twitter, is a blessing and a curse fdhskfhs i feel like it both stresses me out so much AND it teaches me a lot. the key is to follow people who will improve your twitter experience and not be afraid of unfollowing or even muting and blocking (it was years before i learned this lesson so i know how tough it is). that is to say, it is possible to be on book twitter and have a lovely time! i hope you will end up discovering what works best for you 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good advice! I’m still trying to learn how twitter works and I feel weirdly shy about posting on it… Hopefully as I read I’ll be able to jot down little tweets about my thoughts while reading books! Thanks for the positive input!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really hate twitter :/ it’s a really toxic place that is incredibly hostile to any opinions that deviate from the norm. Not a good place for interesting, nuanced discussions. That being said, I do hope it works out for you and you make some great connections there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noooo! So disheartening to hear that. I hate that’s what people have fostered instead of interacting peacefully. If it becomes toxic like that to me, I’m out.

      Like

  4. I have a book twitter but basically never use it. I did follow you though 🙂 Blogging takes up a lot of time and so does trying to keep with my book instagram (plus my personal one) so twitter kind of gets pushed to the back and just sits there. I do like your ideas for twitter though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I agree–blogging takes sooo long. Also I have mastered the idea of chattering into the ether via goodreads updates about the books I’m currently reading and I want to do that with twitter, too, but for some reason my brain is balking at the idea.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Twitter just intimidates me .. there are so many accounts talking about everything to just certain topics. I think because I do most of talking about books through my blog and then my IG, Twitter just seems too much for me haha

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! (Please! I love talking to people!)